白癜风皮肤病:原因、症状和治疗

Medically reviewed by Kee Yong Seng医师 on 8月 1, 2019

什么是白癜风?

白癜风是一种皮肤疾病,它会在身体不同的皮肤部位形成白斑。当皮肤色素细胞 (黑素细胞) 被多种因素破坏时,就会发生这种状况。这种状况也会影响眼部,以及其它如口鼻等粘膜部位。

它可发生在任何性别、年龄、种族和族裔的人士身上。它没有传染性,除了不雅观之外亦不会造成任何伤害。

白癜风的症状有那些?

白癜风的其中主要症状就是皮肤上会形成明显的白色斑块。这些白斑一般会出现在暴露于阳光下的皮肤部位。白斑和皮肤色素一旦形成,几乎很少甚至不可能会恢复到原来的肤色。其它可能受白斑影响的常见部位包括:

  • 眼睛
  • 鼻孔
  • 肚脐
  • 直肠部位
  • 腋窝
  • 生殖器
  • 头发 — 发丝变得灰白

这些白斑可能不会出现变化,也可能会变大或增多,一般取决于您的基因遗传免疫系统等。

白癜风的类型

div>

由白癜风形成的皮肤状况有两种类型,分别是节段型白癜风非节段型白癜风。而其中又属非节段型白癜风最为常见。非节段型白癜风一般会出现在患者身体的两侧,形成对称的白色斑块。白癜风普遍好发于经常暴露在阳光下的皮肤部位如脸部、颈部、手臂、足部和手指。如果斑块只出现在单一部位,那非节段型白癜风也会相对发展得较慢。

非节段型白癜风可按受影响部位被细分为5种类型。

泛发型

此白癜风类型没有特定的受影响部位。在身体的任何地方都可以看到这些斑块。

肢端面部型

它大多出现在手指和脚趾上。

粘膜型

此类型主要出现在粘膜和嘴唇周围。

全身型

它相当少见,但一旦形成就会覆盖身体的大部分面积。

局灶型

这些斑块会出现在分散部位。

W与非节段类型相比,节段型白癜风要少见得多。它的传播速度更快,同时斑块只会影响身体的单一部位,而且很大可能出现在附着神经的脊椎背根皮肤部位。但据知它比非节段型有着更高的持续性、稳定性以及规则性。

导致白癜风的原因

具体原因不明,但可能是由于自身免疫性疾病或,大多数专家和医生称,白癜风通常是由免疫系统引起的。针对免疫系统而言,黑色素细胞可能会被免疫系统自身所破坏。而黑素细胞是一种由色素形成的细胞,为皮肤提供色素或黑色素来达到保护皮肤的作用。

基因遗传也有可能会使人们更易患上这种皮肤疾病。过度晒伤和情绪困扰也可以导致白癜风的形成。虽然没有证据显示,但相较与皮肤较白皙者,白癜风更多发生在皮肤黝黑的人身上。

白癜风可以遗传给下一代。如果您的家族史存在白癜风,那您很可能也会患上这种皮肤疾病。其他自身免疫疾病如甲状腺和第一型糖尿病也可能引发这种疾病 。

如何预防白癜风?

预防白癜风比治疗更为重要。这是因为目前并没有任何能治愈白癜风的方法。以下是一些能有助于皮肤健康和改善受影响外观的自我护理方法。保持皮肤健康的基本步骤,就是让您的皮肤避免受到阳光和人工紫外线的照射。有的白癜风患者皮肤比较白。因此为了保护皮肤状况,必须使用拥有含广效性防晒 (Broad-spectrum) 、防水以及SPF防晒霜。保持穿着可遮盖全身的衣物来保护皮肤,防止其遭到晒伤和长期性的皮肤损伤。

避免纹身。过多纹身可能会导致在纹身后的两个星期内出现新的白斑。有些食物也被认为会使白癜风的状况恶化。这视乎个人情况而定,尤其皮肤非常敏感的人更需要注意。

  • 酒精
  • 蓝莓
  • 咖啡
  • 柑橘
  • 腌菜
  • 石榴
  • 红肉

预防白癜风的天然方法

没有确凿证据显示食用某些食物可能会改善或恶化白癜风的状况。但对于存在遗传问题或健康状况的人士,可能是缺乏了身体所需的某些营养成分所致。所以增加维生素的摄取以及营养饮食将有助于预防白癜风。

以下可改善皮肤状况的食物,包括:

  • 香蕉
  • 苹果
  • 绿叶蔬菜(羽衣甘蓝、菠菜和生菜)
  • 鹰嘴豆
  • 根茎蔬菜(甜菜、胡萝卜、芹菜和白萝卜)
  • 无花果和枣
  • 柠檬
  • 银杏
  • 姜黄

多喝水可以帮助身体维持水分,这对身心健康至关重要。白癜风是一种自身免疫性皮肤病,因此多吃含有植物性化学物质如胡萝卜素、抗氧化剂等的强化免疫系统食物,都能有助于预防这种皮肤疾病。部份矿物质如铜、铁和锌等,也可以帮助预防白癜风复发。

摆脱白癜风的治疗方法

白癜风对患者来说会是终生的困扰。目前仍未有已知的治愈方法,一般上可使用的治疗方法都只是为了缓解症状,以及改善皮肤外观。白癜风可以通过观察皮肤状况的身体检查来确诊。

有些疗法会基于患者的情况而定。每个患者的治疗方式都不尽相同。此外,其中一些疗法可能会带来不必要的副作用。治疗白癜风的方法和药物有很多,它们包括:

其它治疗

Sunscreens

在患处如更浅色的皮肤部位涂抹防晒霜,可有助于保护皮肤不易晒伤。

遮盖疗法/化妆法

使用遮瑕膏和化妆品来掩盖轻微的白斑。选择与正常肤色最相近的,能改善皮肤外观。大部分化妆品都能防水。

若您想知道更多关于白癜风及其解决方案,欢迎拨电与我们安排咨询预约。开放时间为每日早上8时至晚上12时。

电话/Whatsapp : 012-662-5552

电邮: contactus@premier-clinic.com

Available Treatments

    Join The Beauty Loop

    Be the first to know about our time-limited, exclusive promos

Vitiligo Skin Disease: Causes, Symptoms & Treatments

Medically reviewed by Dr Kee Yong Seng on Aug 1, 2019

WHAT IS VITILIGO?

Vitiligo is a skin disorder where white patches develop on the skin in different parts of the body. It happens when the skin pigment cells (melanocytes) are destroyed through numerous factors. This skin condition can also affect the eye and other parts include mucous membrane like mouth and nose.

Vitiligo happens to people of any gender, age, race, and ethnicity. It is not contagious and doesn’t cause any harm to those who suffered from it except for aesthetic.

WHAT ARE THE SYMPTOMS OF VITILIGO?

A main symptom of vitiligo is having visible white patches on the skin. The white patches commonly appear at the skin that were exposed to the sun. It is almost impossible and rare cases for the white patches and skin pigment to return to its original colours once it developed. Other common areas that may be affected by the white patches include:

  •   Eyes
  •   Nostrils
  •   Navel
  •   Rectal Area
  •   Armpits
  •   Genitals
  •   Hair –  It may turn gray

The white patches that appear may stay the same or might increase in size or number.  The condition is depending on your genetic, immune system and also environmental.

TYPES OF VITILIGO

There are two types of vitiligo skin condition, namely non-segmental and segmental. Among these two types, non-segmental vitiligo is the most common one. Non-segmental will appear on both sides of your body as symmetrical white patches. The appearance of vitiligo can be seen on skin that commonly exposed to the sun such as face, neck, arms, feet and hands. The development of non-segmental type will slower if the patches only grow in one area only.

Non-segmental vitiligo can be sub-categorised into 5 types which affected different areas.

Generalised

This category of vitiligo doesn’t affect any specific area. The patches are visible at any part of the body.

Acrofacial

 It mostly appears on the finger and toes.

Mucosal 

This appears mostly around the mucous membranes and lips.

Universal

It is rare but when it happens, it will cover most of the body.

Focal

The patches develop at the scattered area.

While segmental vitiligo occurs much less compared to the non-segmental type. It spreads more rapidly and the patches only affect one area of the body which likely area of skin attached to nerves arising in the dorsal roots of the spine. It is known to be more constant, stable and less erratic than the non-segmental type.

CAUSES OF VITILIGO

The exact cause is unknown, but it may be due to an autoimmune disorder or a virus. Most experts and doctors said that vitiligo commonly caused by the genetically and immune system. For immune system case, the melanocytes may be destroyed by the immune system or themselves. Melanocytes are a pigment-forming cell that provide pigment or melanin to the skin where the function is to protect the skin.

It is also possible for genes to make a person more likely to get the disorder. Excessive sunburn and emotional distress may also cause vitiligo to appear. Although there is no proven evidence to support this, vitiligo often happens to people with dark skin instead of fair skin.

Vitiligo may be passed through heredity from one generation to another. If the family has it, you are likely to get it.  Vitiligo also may be triggered by other autoimmune diseases like thyroid and type 1 diabetes

HOW TO PREVENT VITILIGO?

Preventing vitiligo is more important than cure it. It is because there is no cure for vitiligo. Here are some self-care ways that may help in skin health and appearance. Basic step in taking care of your skin health is protecting your skin from the sun and artificial sources of UV light. People with vitiligo particularly have light skin. Thus, using broad-spectrum, water resistant, and SPF at least 30 is a must in order to protect the skin condition. Always wear full clothes to cover your skin to prevent sunburn and long-term skin damage.

Do avoid getting a tattoo which is not related to the vitiligo. Having too much tattoo on the skin may cause a new patch of vitiligo to appear within two weeks. There is also some food which recognised to worsen the condition of vitiligo. It may vary from one to another especially to those that have very sensitive skin.

  • Alcohol
  • Blueberries
  • Coffee
  • Citrus
  • Pickles
  • Pomegranate
  • Red meats

NATURAL WAYS TO PREVENT VITILIGO

There is no proven evidence that eating certain foods could improve or worsen the condition of vitiligo. But, it is a fact that people with genetic problem or condition may lack in healthy levels of certain nutrients. Increase in intake of vitamins and food that contains high level of nutrients might help in preventing vitiligo.  

Here are some foods that may be helpful including:

  • Bananas
  • Apple
  • Leafy green (kale, spinach, and romaine)
  • Chickpeas (garbanzo beans)
  • Root vegetables (beets, carrots, celery and radishes)
  • Figs and dates
  • Lemon
  • Ginkgo biloba
  • Turmeric

Drinking a lot of water may help in keeping body stay hydrated which is crucial for health and well being. Vitiligo is an autoimmune skin condition, thus eating immune system-boosting foods that contain phytochemicals, beta-carotene and antioxidants definitely help in prevention. Some minerals also may help in preventing vitiligo recurrence like copper, iron and zinc.

TREATMENTS OPTIONS TO GET RID OF VITILIGO

Vitiligo is a lifelong condition to whom who suffered from it. There is no known cure and usually, all the treatments available are just to ease the symptoms and improve the appearance of affected skin. Vitiligo can be diagnosed through physical exam by looking at the skin condition. 

Some treatments are designed to base on the patient’s condition. It may vary from one patient to another. Moreover, some treatment may come with unwanted side effects. There are a number of treatment and medications that can be used to treat vitiligo including:

Others treatment

Sunscreens

Uses of sunscreen at the affected area like lighter patches of the skin will help to protect the skin from getting burn easily.

Skin camouflage/ cosmetic

Cosmetic creams and makeup can be used to cover white patches for the mild cases of vitiligo. It may help in improving the appearance by selecting the best match of skin features. Most of cosmetics available now are designed to be waterproof.

If you’d like to know more about vitiligo and its solution, please call us to arrange a consultation session. We are available from 8am to 12 midnight DAILY.

Call/Whatsapp: 012-662-5552

Email: contactus@premier-clinic.com

Available Treatments

Join The Beauty Loop

Be the first to know about our time-limited, exclusive promos

    WANT COUPON
    Subscribe now to get free discount coupon code. Don't miss out!
      SUBSCRIBE